The legal claim to your personal injury case does not last forever. This is due to a statute of limitations – a deadline for filing a lawsuit. Once this deadline is passed, your legal claim is no longer valid. For California personal injury cases, the statute of limitations is 2 years from the injury. In other words, you only have two years from the date of your injury to file a lawsuit. However, if the personal injury was not discovered immediately, then the statute of limitations is 1 year from the date of discovery.
If you are suing a government agency for a personal injury case, you must file a special “administrative claim” within 6 months starting from the date of the injury. There are exceptions – please either speak to a lawyer or review California Government Code section 905 and 911.2.
For more information, please visit www.courts.ca.gov/9618.htm
*The materials provided on this website are for informational purposes only. The materials are not for the purpose of providing legal advice. Please contact your legal counsel to obtain official advice regarding legal matters.